July 27, 2010

  • Wow, talk about timing!

    On mid June, along with millions of other gadget geeks, I waited briefly in line at my local AT&T store for a sales rep to assist me; I was excitedly pre-ordering my first iPhone; heck my first Smart phone.

    Yes, yes . . . I work in IT/Support and I still used a dumb phone.  Not just a dumb phone, but a 5yr old dumb phone.  I was rather fond of it, so  mock away.  It is a (what I call) punky pink Motorola Slvr.  I think they were short lived, but mine took a lickin’.

    I knew it was time to get a new phone when two numbers on the keypad cracked and the little toggle button on the middle flicked off every now and then.  No, it wasn’t all the scratches, bruises, dents or scrapes, they’re just endearing war wounds as far as I’m concerned.

    So now I have this shiny new nifty gadget that I’m rather enjoying.  Granted, some of the technology (er, bells’n whistles) is lost on me because I’m just not that big a gadget geek (well, not compared to most’o my friends); but I do like having all my contacts organized, and I do like the iPod feature lots.  And, I rreeeeeaaallllyyyyyyy like having all features bundled into one device.

    On Christmas, 2005 my sister gifted me 5th Gen iPod video inscribed’n dedicated to me; and, no longer in production.  I love that thing!  I’ve enjoyed many many many hours of great music (cuz I have great taste in music, of course) on my iPod.   It’s 60GB and for a few years it doubled as an external HDD.  It has very well served its purpose in my book.

    Sadly, about 6 weeks ago, it got stuck on a song, the screen went dim and the button on the middle of the controls is stuck in the pressed position.  I cannot get it to work.  I am heartbroken. 

    A quick drive into my local Apple store had me dropping it off for the evening, much like a mom drops her child off for the child’s first sleep-over.  A tech would look at it and let me know my options . . . and a call this morning did just that.  I can have it replaced for $149 (plus tax, tag’n title), or apply it towards 10% discount on the purchase of a new one.

    The original device sold for $500.  I suppose swapping out for a working one for $149 would be a good buy, but I’m reluctant.  I will be picking it up tonight and hanging on to it a wee bit longer, if anything, it’ll be a nice little paperweight.

    Timing is appropriate . . . while the iPod and the dumb phone are out of commission; the iPhone will usurp their place in my life . . . and eventually in heart.

    G’bye my little friends . . . you may no longer be in service, but you’ll still be in my heart. 

     

       

     

Comments (4)

  • I think I am one of the only people on the planet that doesn't have a smart phone.

  • @godfatherofgreenbay - I fought it tooth'n nail . . . I won some battles, but it won the war.  There's definitely a learning curve . . . still getting used to all its nuances . . . gotta' say tho, I'm pleased with it.  While I'll miss me other toys, it's really nice having all in on small package.

  • Mine is only a semi-smart phone which doesn't live up to its potential because I refuse to pay the money necessary to use all of its features.  How's that for a run-on sentence ??  My Verizon contract has expired and I'm seriously considering switching to Sprint, with their affordable all-in-one package.  Though I'm sure I won't do anything until my phone dies and I'm forced into action :)

    Congrats on the new toy... enjoy !

  • @PrimevalWench - I switched to AT&T in 2004/2005 after the nasty hurricanes that blew by us.  I used to be w/T-Mobile whose customer service was tremendous, but their service after the storms left weeks to be desired.  Verizon is just too way expensive, IMHO.  I suppose it's good in those areas AT&T doesn't blanket and for those who travel extensively.  Oh, and I now AT&T doesn't offer unlimited data, there are two tiers; I went for the cheaper/lower data and set the iPhone to use WiFi since I'm in WiFi environment about 22/7 (yup, not quite 24/7).

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories